ThinkFirst Staff


Donna Cavanaugh, B.A.: Donna is the Louisiana State Chapter Director for ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation and Executive Director of the Ark-La-Tex Chapter. She is responsible for the development and implementation of all the activities of the local chapter based in Shreveport and the coordination of ThinkFirst Chapters throughout the state.

Contact Donna at


Denise Gresens: Denise is the Office Administrator. She provides the behind-the-scenes organization and administration necessary to allow ThinkFirst to operate at maximum efficiency.

Contact Denise at


Kathie Rowell: Kathie Rowell is the media relations and social media consultant for ThinkFirst of the Ark-La-Tex. She writes a monthly safety column for The Times, covers ThinkFirst events and posts to both the ThinkFirst of the Ark-La-Tex Facebook page and the teen-focused ThinkFirst Drive Smart Facebook and Twitter accounts.

Lauren Kain B.S. and Shainne Williams B.S.: Lauren and Shainne are program directors for ThinkFirst of the Ark-La-Tex. They develop, coordinate and conduct injury prevention education programs for the chapter. They effectively execute ThinkFirst programs that best impact each target audience. They also work to recruit and train new VIP (Voice for Injury Prevention) speakers for ThinkFirst programs, and actively promote ThinkFirst's message by building and maintaining collaborative partnerships within the community. Contact Lauren at and Shainne at


Board of Directors:

Dina Utter, President

Duane Ebarb, Secretary

J.D. Smith, Treasurer

Mary Smith, Past President

Jessie Boswell

Joe Duke

Stephanie Easterling

Dr. Marie Vazquez Morgan

Sponsoring Physician:

David A. Cavanaugh, MD

ThinkFirst of the